December 14, 2006
Globe stat of the day...

Prior to Paul Haggis's snub last year, the last time the HFPA failed to nominate the director of the eventual Best Picture Oscar winner: 1989.

Prior to that? 1981.

Three times in 25 years.

Yeah, they're "irrelevant" and everything. But FYI.

(1989 and 1981 were incidentally the only two times in the last 25 years the eventual Best Picture Oscar winner was snubbed of BOTH director and screenplay nods with the HFPA.)


Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)