'Zero Dark Thirty,' 'The Master' win big with Chicago film critics

Posted by · 6:27 am · December 17th, 2012

Another swift turnaround from nominations, as the Chicaco Film Critics Association has joined the chorus of “Zero Dark Thirty” supporters. The film won five awards, including Best Picture, Best Director and Best Actress. “The Master,” meanwhile, won four, for Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Cinematography and Best Score. Check out the full list of winners below and keep track of the season via The Circuit.

Best Picture
“Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Director
Kathryn Bigelow, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Actor
Daniel Day-Lewis, “Lincoln”

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Supporting Actor
Philip Seymour Hoffman, “The Master”

Best Supporting Actress
Amy Adams, “The Master”

Best Adapted Screenplay

Best Original Screenplay
“Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Art Direction
“Moonrise Kingdom”

Best Cinematography
“The Master”

Best Editing
“Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Score
“The Master”

Best Animated Film

Best Foreign Film

Best Documentary
“The Invisible War”

Most Promising Newcomer
Quvenzhané Wallis, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”

Most Promising Filmmaker
Benh Zeitlin, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”

Comments Off on 'Zero Dark Thirty,' 'The Master' win big with Chicago film critics Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Filed in: HitFix · In Contention