January 07, 2008
Well done, ASC

The American Society of Cinematographers has announced its nominees...

"The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford" - Roger Deakins
"Atonement" - Seamus McGarvey
"The Diving Bell and the Butterfly" - Janusz Kaminski
"No Country for Old Men" - Roger Deakins
"There Will Be Blood" - Robert Elswit

This year was an embarassment of riches in this category, and all five nominated achievements are superb.

The matchup rate with Oscar is usually 3/5 or 4/5 but these five seem solid. While may preference for a spoiler would be Rodrigo Prieto ("Lust, Caution"), I nonetheless suspect that Eric Gautier is the man most likely to bump out one of the five guild nominees for "Into the Wild." But who would that be? I think I'm going to predict a rare 5/5 matchup.


I second that prediction Gerard, all the nominees are so good, I cannot imagine ho should be left out if it came to a 4/5 matchup, but I think if it came to that, No Country For Old Men would be bumped, Assassintion of Jesse James is Deakins' 2007 gem.

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)