‘A Prophet’ takes Louis Delluc Prize

Posted by · 8:53 am · December 11th, 2009

Tahar Rahim in A ProphetTwo weeks ago, I mentioned the impressive shortlist of nominees for the Louis Delluc Prize, a prestigious juried award handed annually to the title thought to represent the best in French cinema. Variety has just reported that Jacques Audiard’s Oscar contender “A Prophet” is this year’s winner.

The news isn’t entirely unsurprising — the Delluc sometimes sidelines obvious frontrunners in favor of more hidden gems, as was the case last year, when “The Class” lost to documentary “Modern Life.”

Not so this time — indeed, Audiard’s film has barely missed an awards opportunity since taking silver at Cannes. It also looks a good bet to take home some hardware at tomorrow’s European Film Awards … could the Oscar even be within reach?

Meanwhile, another prison-related drama, Lea Fehner’s “Silent Voice,” took the Best First Film award.

→ 6 Comments Tags: , , , | Filed in: Daily

6 responses so far

  • 1 12-11-2009 at 9:20 am

    Ivan said...

    Awesome…hopefully it’ll win big tomorrow.

    The only thing stopping it from oscar nomination at the very least is the fact it’s not being released in the states until February.Will the screeners be enough?

  • 2 12-11-2009 at 9:23 am

    Zizo Abul Hawa said...

    I’m sorry for the Off-Topic, I just love this and I had to share it with you people, BEST TRAILER EVER


  • 3 12-11-2009 at 9:38 am

    Guy Lodge said...

    Ivan: Given that the nominees are not determined by the general Academy votership, but by committee members after attending mandatory screenings of the contenders, that’s not a concern.

  • 4 12-11-2009 at 9:42 am

    Ivan said...

    I didn’t know that.In that case i’m very optimistic about a nomination.

    Thanks for the info

  • 5 12-11-2009 at 2:21 pm

    SophieLL said...

    Future French rising star? Sure. Best film in foreign language? maybe. Perhaps a nom for best actor….

  • 6 12-11-2009 at 2:43 pm

    Guy Lodge said...

    Sadly, a Best Actor Oscar nom isn’t possible thanks to the film’s 2010 release. Sure as hell deserves one though.