Bacall, Calley, Corman, Willis tapped for AMPAS Governors Awards

Posted by · 12:00 am · September 11th, 2009

Lauren BacallThe press release, in part:

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences voted tonight to present the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award to producer-executive John Calley, and Honorary Awards to actress Lauren Bacall, producer-director Roger Corman, and cinematographer Gordon Willis. All four awards will be presented at the Academy’s inaugural Governors Awards event on Saturday, November 14, at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center.

“These four individuals have each, in their own unique way, made lasting impressions on the motion picture industry and audiences worldwide,” said Academy President Tom Sherak. ”I’m thrilled that the Academy’s Board selected them to be honored at our new Governors Awards event, which will be full of memorable moments celebrating their accomplishments.”

The full release here.

→ 6 Comments Tags: , , , , , | Filed in: Daily

6 responses so far

  • 1 9-11-2009 at 3:30 am

    geha714 said...

    They should award Bacall and Corman in the main ceremony.

  • 2 9-11-2009 at 4:12 am

    Michael W. said...

    Holy sh***. When the Academy first announced this new way to award these honorary and special achievement awards I thought it was a good idea because it would give more time to celebrate the people involved, but now they choose to give honorary Oscars to both Bacall and Corman who I have wanted to see receive that award for a long, long time.

    I should be happy, and I am, but I’m also really dissapointed that I probably wont get to see them accept the Oscar. Well, I’ll have to be happy just seeing pictures of it then :D

  • 3 9-11-2009 at 4:50 am

    RJNeb2 said...

    Great shout-out for Gordon Willis, one of the most influential cinematographers of the 70s. About time.

  • 4 9-11-2009 at 5:19 am

    Zac said...

    Great shout-out for Gordon Willis, one of the most influential cinematographers of the 70s. About time.

    And yet, he was nominated for Zelig in 1984 and The Godfather Part III in 1990. Go figure.

  • 5 9-11-2009 at 7:34 am

    The Other James D. said...

    Ugh. The first female mainstay that they’ve handed this Honorary Award out to in ages, and they fuck it up by keeping her away from the main ceremony. They better AT LEAST show a clip or have her present or something (but they won’t, because, as Stan’s sister would say, they’re giant turdacious turds).

  • 6 9-12-2009 at 6:36 am

    John said...

    It’s absolutely insane, ridiculous, and a spit on the entire ceremony that they are going to make more room for performances by Vanessa Hudgens and Miley Cyrus, celebutantes whose films will be lining the bottom bin of a K-Mart five years from now, and bumping such legends as Bacall, Willis, and Corman from the ceremony. 100 years from now, we’ll still be wanting to ask Steve for a whistle and watching the splendor of Manhattan in black & white, but I can guarantee that no one will care about High School Musical 3.