Big changes with the USC Scripter Awards

Posted by · 5:23 pm · December 10th, 2008

Everyone wants to compete.  This is the derby, the parade, the long, slow march to Oscar.  Simultaneously balancing a need for relevance with the inherent necessity to be distinguished can be a high-wire act this time of year, but with the various kudos being dished about, all eyes are turned, more and more, toward the awarding event at hand.

With that in mind, the USC Scripter Awards will not be the foregone conclusion it has been in years past.  Generally, the winner would be announced and the big to-do would come later, the winning parties there to accept the award they knew they had coming to them.  Now, it seems, the show will have an air of competition about it, and perhaps (as I’m sure the USC Libraries are hoping), an array of nominees turning out as well.

From the hot-off-the-presses release:

For the first time in the 20-year history of the event, the USC Libraries will announce Scripter winners on the evening of the gala.

“Announcing the winner at the ceremony makes for a much more dramatic evening,” said [USC Scripter chair Naomi] Foner Gyllenhaal. “And drama is at the center of any award presentation. This change also gives us a chance to really honor all the finalists among their peers at the event.”

It looks like Jamie Lee Curtis will serve as this year’s emcee, following in the footsteps of Jason Alexander, who I thought did a nice job last year.  Additionally, there has been a minor rule change worth noting:

English-language adaptations based on a series of books now qualify for Scripter consideration. Previously, only films based upon individual books, novellas, or short stories were eligible.


1 Comment Tags: , , | Filed in: Daily

1 response so far