AMPAS invites 105 to the party

Posted by · 11:47 am · June 23rd, 2008

The Academy has officially announced the 105 people it has invited to join its ranks this year; they range from obvious recent winners (Marion Cotillard, Diablo Cody), to cool commercial forces (Judd Apatow, Sacha Baron Cohen), to less glamorous but equally deserving names such as documentarian Nanette Burstein and composer Michael Giacchino.

Looking down the list, it’s hard to believe that certain veterans weren’t already members; take Ruby Dee, for example, or Jack Fisk, or one of my personal writing heroes, Jean-Claude Carriere. Knowing that such vital artists could be voting sure aids the credibility of the awards – though I have a hard time imagining Michael Haneke hunched over his ballot, agonising over the nominees for Best Original Song.

The full list of 2008 invitees is after the jump. Your thoughts, as ever, welcome.

Sacha Baron Cohen
Josh Brolin
Marion Cotillard
Ruby Dee
Allison Janney
Jet Li
Ray Winstone

David Bowers
Ash Brannon
Doug Cooper
Jeremy Lasky
Caroline Leaf
David Schaub
David Silverman
Suzie Templeton

Jim Houston
Neil Machlis
Sheila Nevins

Casting Directors
Ronna Kress

Jonathan W. Brown
Clark Mathis
Kramer Morgenthau
J. Michael Muro
Tim Orr
Tom Richmond

Costume Designers
Isis Mussenden

Sergei Bodrov
James Gray
Michael Haneke
Doug Liman
Kimberly Peirce
Peyton Reed
Jason Reitman
Walter Salles
Gore Verbinski

Nanette Burstein
Heidi Ewing
Liz Garbus
Michele Ohayon
Deborah Shaffer

Alan Bergman
Dana Goldberg
Sidney Kimmel
Chris S. LeRoy
Andrew Rona
Jeff Skoll

Film Editors
Barry Alexander Brown
John Carnochan
John Gilroy
Mark Livolsi
Dylan Tichenor
Juliette Welfling

Live Action Short Films
Philippe Pollet-Villard

Jan Archibald
Kate Biscoe
Didier Lavergne
Christien Tinsley

Glen Ballard
J. J. George
Michael Giacchino

Armyan Bernstein
Jennifer Fox
Lianne Halfon
Hal Lieberman
Andrew Macdonald
Karen Murphy
Peter R. Newman
JoAnne Sellar

Production Designers
Jack Fisk
Clayton R. Hartley

Public Relations
Stephanie Allen
Suzanne Fritz
Kevin Goetz
Stephanie Kluft
Tim Palen
Marc Weinstock

Set Decorators
Larry Dias
Katie Spencer
Sandy Reynolds Wasco

Craig Berkey
Fernando Camara
David Giammarco
Mike Hopkins
Robert J. Kizer
Alyson Dee Moore
Mark Onks
Jon Taylor

Stunt Coordinators
Melissa R. Stubbs

Visual Effects
Nick Davis
Brian Gernand
Dan Glass
Bryan Grill
Edward T. Hirsh
Helena Packer
Kelly Port
Ted Rae
Doug Roble
Carey Villegas

Judd Apatow
David Benioff
Jean-Claude Carriere
Diablo Cody
Tamara Jenkins
Jeff Nathanson
Nancy Oliver

→ 8 Comments Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Filed in: Daily

8 responses so far

  • 1 6-23-2008 at 12:33 pm

    Michelle said...

    I am appalled that Sacha Baron Cohen was invited to join the Academyat all, but especially in a year that Ellen Page was nominated for an Oscar and should have been on that list over him!!!

    What the hell? They invited Scarlett Johansson when she was 20 and she wasn’t even a nominee.

  • 2 6-23-2008 at 12:45 pm

    Guy Lodge said...

    I think you’re forgetting that Cohen is also an Oscar nominee, Michelle. Why so appalled? He’s a talented and influential figure who has been on the scene for a while.

  • 3 6-23-2008 at 1:03 pm

    Kristopher Tapley said...

    So was Armyan Bernstein, but he’s only now getting the invite. Oh, and Dakota Fanning is a member.

    AMPAS. They’re ass backwards sometimes.

  • 4 6-23-2008 at 8:54 pm

    jason said...

    gore verbinski is by far the most surprisingly belated to me, he’s been making critically acclaimed movies for years

    ellen page will get invited soon, she is already schmoozing with the old mavens and clearly wants in

    this list is full of names i recognize, but i don’t remember where from, like tamara jenkins. did she write akeelah and the bee or something?

  • 5 6-24-2008 at 2:56 am

    Guy Lodge said...

    Jason, Tamara Jenkins wrote and directed “Slums of Beverly Hills” and last year’s “The Savages,” for which she got an Original Screenplay nom.

    I can’t agree that Verbinski is the most belated, given that he’s only been directing since 1996. Carriere, on the other hand, has been writing films since the early 60’s, and has a jaw-dropping resume.

  • 6 6-24-2008 at 10:38 am

    Xavi Rodriguez said...

    I’m so glad to Marion Cotillard, Ray Winstore, Allison Janney, Josh Brolin, Walter Salles, Kimberly Pierce and also interesting Sacha Baron Cohen (He’s oscar nominee for Best Adapted Screenplay). But it’s strange that AMPAS has an invitation to Janney and not to Page, it’s like last year between Fanning and Breslin, when Breslin is an Oscar Nominee… No Casey Affleck, Amy Ryan, Julin Schnabel.
    In case of Dee, better later that never…